When was the last time you cleaned out your makeup collection?

If you’re like me and most other makeup lovers, you love buying new products and trying the latest trending look. So often some of our older purchases get relegated to the back of the drawer, unused and unloved.

Last night I was experimenting with some eye looks for Valentine’s Day.  I did the same things that we all do: used a variety of products, tried a few different looks and took a ton of pics until I got the right one. I made sure to properly remove my eye makeup, do my nightly skin routine, and went to bed feeling all good about myself!

A very soft pink shimmery #eyemakeupideas for #ValentinesDay #nakedpalette #sephora

A post shared by Pizzazz Beauty (@pizzazzbeautybasket) on

And then I wake up this morning with swollen, gunky red eyes! yuck (I’ll spare you from the images)!  I knew that my brushes had been clean, but when I went back and looked at the products I had used, it occurred to me that one of the eyeshadow palettes I used was pretty old! I loved the Sephora Fashion Bag palette when I bought it because it was a great travel set with a variety of looks, which also included matching blushes and glosses.

fullsizerender
Sephora Fashion Bag palette

Unfortunately I only used it a few times, so I thought I’d take one color from it! As painful as it is to see good makeup go into the trash, eye infections are never worth it so I’m definitely tossing this out! Oh well on the plus side, it means I have room to add another palette! 😛

Here’s a helpful table below to guide you when to throw out your old cosmetics:

expirylist

Image Source: POPSUGAR Photography / Benjamin Stone
Leave a Reply

